John Carpenter’s Escape From New York: Soundtrack (2LP Coloured Vinyl)


Released in 1981, Escape From New York is a science fiction action film co-written and co-scored by John Carpenter starring Kurt Russell, Donald Pleasence, Adrienne Barbeau, and Harry Dean Stanton. The film is set in the near-future world of 1997 where the United States has devolved into a coast to coast crime-ridden continent. Manhattan Island in New York City has been converted into the country’s maximum security prison where criminal offenders are transported and forgotten. In an effort to kidnap the president of the United States, Air Force One is hijacked by insurgents and purposefully crashed into New York City. Ex-soldier and current federal prisoner, Snake Plissken (Russell) is given just 24 hours to go in and rescue the president (Pleasence), after which, if successful, Snake will be pardoned.

John Carpenter’s Escape From New York received commercial success upon its summer 1981 release and is now considered a cult classic. The film has inspired popular video games such as Metal Gear Solid, filmmakers such as J.J. Abrams, and authors such as William Gibson.

The score was written by John Carpenter and co-produced by Carpenter and Alan Howarth. Howarth used equipment including ARP and Prophet-5 synthesizers and a Linn LM-1 drum machine, as well as an acoustic piano and Fender guitars, to create the palette of sounds used in the score, while Carpenter composed the melodies on the synthesizer keyboards. As the MIDI standard had yet to be invented, Howarth manually synchronized the equipment to picture while listening to a copy of the film’s dialogue. Initial inspirational directions which Carpenter shared with Howarth included albums by Tangerine Dream and The Police.


Out of stock



John Carpenter’s Escape From New York Expanded Original Motion Picture Score Features:

  • The Complete Score Album by John Carpenter and Alan Howarth
  • 180 Gram “Descent into New York” Fire Orange w/ Blue and White Splatter Colored Vinyl *
  • 180 Gram “Statue of Liberty” Blue/Green/Black Marbled Colored Vinyl
  • Old Style Tip-On Gatefold Jackets
  • 12”x12” Twelve Page Booklet
  • Unreleased Behind-The-Scenes Set Photography
  • Artwork by Marc Aspinall
1. Main Title
2. The Bank Robbery
3. Prison Introduction [dialogue]
4. Over The Wall / Airforce One
5. He’s Still Alive / Romero
6. Snake Plissken [dialogue]
7. Orientation
8. Tell Him [dialogue]
9. Engulfed Cathedral (Debussy)
10. Across The Roof
11. Descent Into New York
12. Back To The Pod – Version 1
13. Everyone’s Coming To New York
14. Don’t Go Down There! [dialogue]
15. Back To The Pod – Version 2 / The Crazies Come Out
16. I Heard You Were Dead! [dialogue]
17. Arrival At The Library
18. You Are The Duke Of New York [dialogue]
19. The Duke Arrives / Barricade
20. President At The Train
21. Who Are You? [dialogue]
22. Police Action
23. Romero And The President
24. The President Is Gone
25. 69th Street Bridge
26. Over The Wall
27. The Name Is Plissken [dialogue]
28. Snake Shake


* we believe these are the orange variant. No way to tell without opening and we are not doing that.

Additional information

Weight 1 kg
Dimensions 32 × 32 cm


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “John Carpenter’s Escape From New York: Soundtrack (2LP Coloured Vinyl)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *