Bauhaus: The Bela Session (Black/Red Vinyl)


The Bela Session captures the first time Bauhaus recorded together, January 26th, 1979, just six weeks after forming as a band. This is the first release of that complete recording session, including three previously unreleased tracks. Mastered from the original analogue tape by Mandy Parnell, this also marks the first official reissue of the single “Bela Lugosi’s Dead” on vinyl for over thirty years, considered the original gothic rock record and a cornerstone of the genre.

Bauhaus emerged from the post-punk alternative music scene of the early 80s with a string of innovative albums and a powerfully dramatic live presentation. Originally released as a 12-inch single in August 1979, “Bela Lugosi’s Dead” failed to make the charts but has widely influenced contemporary goth culture as well as popular culture at large.

Among many highlights, a live recording of “Bela Lugosi’s Dead” was the soundtrack to the opening scene of 1983 horror film The Hunger; it’s been covered by Nine Inch Nails, Massive Attack, Nouvelle Vague, Chvrches and others; cited as an influence on authors Chuck Palahniuk and Neil Gaiman.


Out of stock




  1. Bela Lugosi’s Dead
  2. Some Faces
  3. Bite My Hip
  4. Harry
  5. Boys (Original)

Additional information

Weight 1 kg
Dimensions 32 × 32 cm