Black Sabbath: ‘The Vinyl Collection 1970-1978’ (Box Set)


‘BLACK SABBATH THE VINYL COLLECTION 1970-1978’ will be released as a limited edition, nine-LP set of the band’s first eight studio albums plus a mono singles collection.

When Ozzy Osbourne, Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler and Bill Ward formed Black Sabbath in 1968, the quartet conjured a primal sound that was heavier, louder and more menacing than anything that had come before. The band recorded a series of metal masterpieces in the ’70s that became the blueprint for heavy music and influenced generations of headbangers for years to come.

Rhino’s new collection spans the Rock and Roll Hall of Famer’s first eight years with a nine-LP boxed set that includes 180-gram vinyl pressings of the band’s eight studio albums from the era, along with a new mono singles collection. The set also comes with a 7″ single featuring “Evil Woman (Don’t Play Your Games With Me)” and “Wicked World,” a single that wasn’t originally released in North America. Also included in the set are reproductions of the original tour books from this era.

The collection brings together some of the most powerful metal albums ever recorded, including:

  • the band’s eponymous debut (1970);
  • the multi-platinum landmark Paranoid (1970);
  • the platinum albums Master Of Reality(1971),
  • Vol. 4 (1972), and
  • Sabbath Bloody Sabbath (1973);
  • the gold-certified Sabotage (1975);
  • plus Technical Ecstasy (1976)
  • and Never Say Die! (1978)

THE VINYL COLLECTION 1970-1978 also comes with Monomania , a new compilation of mono versions for several key songs from the Black Sabbath catalog, including edited versions of “Iron Man,” “Sabbath Bloody Sabbath” and a previously unreleased edit of “Into The Void.” In addition to mono versions of studio tracks, Monomania also features a radio ad released in 1970 to promote Black Sabbath.

Only 1 left in stock




Album Listing:

  • Black Sabbath (1970)
  • Paranoid (1971)
  • Master Of Reality (1971)
  • Vol 4 (1972)
  • Sabbath Bloody Sabbath (1974)
  • Sabotage (1975)
  • Technical Ecstasy (1976)
  • Never Say Die! (1978)
  • Monomania

Monomania Side One

  1. “Evil Woman (Don’t Play Your Games With Me)” *
  2. “Wicked World”
  3. “The Wizard”
  4. “Iron Man” (Edited Version)

Monomania Side Two

  1. “Paranoid”
  2. “Into The Void” (Edited Version) **
  3. “Sabbath, Bloody Sabbath” (Edited Version)
  4. “It’s Alright”
  5. Radio Spot For Black Sabbath

7″ Single (45rpm)

“Evil Woman (Don’t Play Your Games With Me)” b/w “Wicked World”

* previously unreleased in North America
** previously unreleased

Consider joining one of our mailing lists.

We won't spam you. At most 2 to 3 emails per month announcing specials, rarities, giveaways and discount offers! Trust us, it is worth your while! Feel free to join the generic Rue Morgue Records list or our KISS list. Choice is yours! Join both if you like!

Additional information

Weight 2 kg
Dimensions 32 × 15 × 32 cm