DIO: Holy Diver (2022 Joe Barresi Remix)


Dio’s debut album, Holy Diver, will be reissued this summer to mark what would have been the 80th birthday of the late Ronnie James Dio.  

Barresi’s new mix of the title cut sounds crisp — Dio’s vocal harmonies pop out amid Vivian Campbell’s heavy riffage. There’s more separation between the instruments on the remix, giving it a unique power.

Available on 180-gram vinyl as a double-LP set, including the B-side “Evil Eyes” as a bonus cut.

Side Four will feature an etching of Dio’s mascot, the demon Murry.

Dio started writing some of the songs on Holy Diver while still a member of Black Sabbath, hoping that band would record both “Holy Diver” and “Don’t Talk to Stranger.” But after the group split during the mixing of their Live Evil album, he formed Dio with his Sabbath bandmate drummer Vinny Appice, Campbell, and bassist Jimmy Bain, who had played with Dio in Rainbow.

When Rolling Stone ranked the 100 Greatest Heavy Metal Albums of All Time in 2017, Holy Diver came in at Number 16. “After establishing himself as a top-tier hard-rock vocalist via his late-Seventies/early-Eighties stints in Rainbow and Black Sabbath, Ronnie James Dio truly ascended into the metal pantheon with his 1983 solo debut,” the magazine wrote. “More bracingly metallic than anything he had done before … Holy Diver‘s stirring anthems like ‘Stand Up and Shout,’ ‘Rainbow in the Dark,’ and the immortal title track found Dio planting one boot in Dungeons & Dragons–style fantasy and the other in contemporary social commentary.”

HOLY DIVER was a platinum-certified smash and one of the late singer-songwriter’s most groundbreaking achievements. Rhino revisits this epic metal moment with a 2LP mixed by Joe Barresi (Tool, Queens of the Stone Age, Slipknot). It includes the original nine tracks, plus the 1983 B-side version of “Evil Eyes” as a bonus track. Side four is decorated with an etching of the legendary demon Murry that graces the album’s iconic cover. The vinyl is kept in a gatefold sleeve that shows off newly commissioned artwork by longtime Dio artist, Marc Sasso.




2022 Joe Barresi Remix Version

Side 1
1. “Stand Up and Shout”
2. “Holy Diver”
3. “Gypsy”
4. “Caught in the Middle”

Side 2
5. “Don’t Talk to Strangers”
6. “Straight Through the Heart”
7. “Invisible”

Side 3:
8. “Rainbow in the Dark”
9. “Shame on the Night”
10: Evil Eyes (Wyn Davis Remix)

Side 4:
Murry Etching

Additional information

Weight 1 kg
Dimensions 32 × 32 cm