Mötley Crüe The Dirt On Netflix

So come now children of the beast…
Be strong And Shout At The Devil!

Rock biographies are some of my fave books. I have an ample collection and in time, Rue Morgue Records will be stocking a bunch of the better ones right here in our store.

For the longest of times, Led Zeppelin’s Hammer Of The Gods was one of the controversial times. It held that crown for a while. But when Mötley Crüe released The Dirt several years ago now… all bets were off. Oh boy we’re they off!

The book was first published in 2001 to great success and controversy. It chronicles the formation of the band, their rise to fame and their highs and lows with rare candor. Nothing was spared and the brilliance of the read is the astonishing brutal honesty portrayed within the pages. No sugar-coating here. Indeed a gritty homage to the rise and fall and rise and fall and rise again of LA’s most notorious Rock band.

“You could take both the Zep and Aerosmith books Hammer of the Gods and Walk This Way, respectively, mash them together with contaminated blood and as much bullshit as it takes to stick the pages,” wrote Mick Wall, “and you still wouldn’t have something as brilliantly conceived or vividly told as The Dirt. Far more than any of their mostly patchy albums, The Dirt stands as Mötley Crüe’s most convincing monument to four lives lived the hard and fast way.”

When news was first mentioned that there would be a film adaption of the book, the first thing that enters one mind is… “How could they possibly achieve that without a XXX rating?”

The movie sat in development hell for years and years until 2013 when director Jeff Tremaine signed on after both MTV Films and Paramount dropped the production. Tremaine most known for his work on the (brilliant!) Jackass franchise seemed to be the perfect fit for this project from the get-go. Again the production stalled and stalled until 2015 when Netflix jumped on board and from that point on… it was all systems go!

Douglas Booth as Nikki Sixx, Daniel Webber as Vince Neil, Machine Gun Kelly as Tommy Lee, Iwan Rheon as Mick Mars

The Soundtrack

The Dirt Soundtrack includes four brand new songs and is available for pre-order now through Mötley Records and Eleven Seven Music. The pre-order offers an instant download of the single, ‘The Dirt’HERE

“During the filming of our movie we got excited and inspired to write new music. Getting back in the studio with Bob Rock just fueled the creative fires for us. To me, the music sounds like classic Mötley. The lyrics were written for the movie and are a reflection of our life.” – Nikki Sixx

The 18-song soundtrack mastered by GRAMMY winner, Dave Donnelly features a collection of Mötley Crüe classics that meaningfully underscore significant moments that shape the film. The album includes 14 fan-favorites and chart topping tracks such as “Dr. Feelgood” that charted at #6 on Billboard’s Hot 100 and the anthemic “Girls, Girls, Girls” which reached #2 on Billboard’s Top 200 amongst others. Additional hits featured are “Kickstart My Heart,” “Same ‘Ol Situation (S.O.S.),” “Shout At The Devil” and the iconic ballad, “Home Sweet Home” that landed the band mainstream recognition.

Exclusive to the film’s soundtrack, Mötley Crüe recorded four new songs featuring the single, “The Dirt (Est. 1981) (feat. Machine Gun Kelly)” with effortless rap verses surrounding signature guitar riffs. The three remaining songs conclude the album with the catchy “Ride With The Devil,” “Crash And Burn” and the band’s own spin on Madonna’s, “Like A Virgin.”

“Me and Tommy hadn’t really talked or seen each other since the final show, and we went to New Orleans to visit the movie set,” Sixx says. “We’d just needed a breather from each other from over 30 year of being in each other’s faces. It was so nice when me and Tommy started hanging out again.”

“I looked at him and said, ‘Do you realize that I’ve known you longer than I’ve known anyone in my life?’” Lee recalls. “Wives and both of my parents are gone. I said, ‘It’s really cool that we’re able to realize and appreciate how long we’ve known each other and remain the best of friends from here on out, because it’s something extraordinary and truly special that we’ve done together and shared.’ There’s no room for stupid animosity or things that wear on you after touring together for so long. So everybody’s in good spirits now, which is fucking awesome. It wasn’t like that a couple years ago; it was just actually ugly.”

All formats of the soundtrack will be made available for sale at Rue Morgue Records very soon! Watch this space!


01. The Dirt (Est. 1981) (feat. Machine Gun Kelly)
02. Red Hot
03. On With The Show
04. Live Wire
05. Merry-Go-Round
06. Take Me To The Top
07. Piece Of Your Action
08. Shout At The Devil
09. Looks That Kill
10. Too Young To Fall In Love
11. Home Sweet Home
12. Girls, Girls, Girls
13. Same Ol’ Situation (S.O.S.)
14. Kickstart My Heart
15. Dr. Feelgood
16. Ride With The Devil
17. Crash And Burn
18. Like A Virgin

Mötley Crüe The Dirt On Netflix

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *